Chantel Punter

Occupational Nurse

Hi, I’m Chantel. I was born and bred in Taranaki, growing up in Waitara. I am one of three tamariki. I returned from living overseas 12 years ago to raise my tamariki and to be closer to my whanau.

I trained in New Plymouth at the Taranaki Polytechnic in 1995 to obtain my Bachelor of Nursing. I have worked in a variety of fields over the last 21 years including the private and public sectors. I initially worked in rehabilitation and geriatric health once I graduated and then moved to Australia where I specialised in orthopaedic, neurosurgical, and pain management for five years.

I continued to practise while travelling and did my big “OE” to the UK in 2003. Initially, I was working as an agency nurse in diverse areas that included maxillo-facial, orthopaedics, emergency, gynaecology, urology, medical, infectious diseases, and district nursing. I then ventured into nutritional medicine working with long term gastric and bowel issues for the Nutricia company. This involved providing education and assistance for PEG and nasogastric feeds to clients, families, and healthcare providers from London to Cambridge.

On return to New Zealand in 2007 I started working for Piki Te Ora as an outreach smear taker and vaccinator until I had my second child. I then changed my focus to my tamariki, working shifts at the Taranaki Base Hospital in the orthopaedic and specialist surgery ward so that I could spend more time with them. I remained there as a senior nurse for eight years with roles including education of the ERAS (hip and knee programmes) to patients, rosters, shift coordinator. I left this position in 2017 to work full time in Vocational Health.

I have worked in Vocational health since 2012. I have enjoyed the challenges and experiences with helping to assist clients to recover from injury and return to work. I try to provide a supportive service to help with the transition from injury to recovery.


Qualifications

  • Bachelor of Nursing
  • Ongoing professional development

Interests

With two children, a husband, and renovating a house I don’t seem to have much time for anything else but, enjoy walking the dog, watching a good movie, gardening and of course travelling. I am currently learning French and then looking to learn Te Reo as I would like to explore my Whakapapa.